Sunday, June 24, 2007

Monday, June 4, 2007

Waseda won the Big 6 Baseball League

Yesterday, Waseda University beat Keio University 9-5 to win its second consecutive Tokyo Big Six League title.

The Tokyo Big6 Baseball League (東京六大学野球連盟) is an intercollegiate baseball league that features six prominent universities in the Tokyo area:
  1. Hosei University;
  2. Keio University;
  3. Meiji University;
  4. Rikkio University;
  5. University of Tokyo;
  6. and, last but not least, Waseda University.
Before the establishment and subsequent growth of Nippon Professional Baseball, the Big6 League was widely considered the highest level of baseball in Japan.

To celebrate the victory, thousands and thousands of students and supporters gathered at Nishi-waseda Campus. It was incredible!